2012 IMEA Professional Development Conference

Indiana Bandmasters Association

Indiana Music Educators Association

Present the

2012 Indiana Junior All-State Band

Susan Taylor, Guest Conductor

Coordinated by BJ Marks and David Cole

9:30 a.m.
Saturday, January 21, 2012
Main Stage
Embassy Theatre
Fort Wayne, Indiana

Program

Dance of the Spirits	.Michael Sweeney (b. 1952)
Rhythm of the Spheres	Erik Morales (b.1966)
Danza del Fuego	Robert W. Smith (b. 1958)
Moscow 1941	Brian Balmages (b.1975)
Kitty Hawk, 1903 (The Dream of Flight)	William Owens (b. 1963)



Dr. Susan Taylor is Director of Bands, and Co-Chair of the School of Music at Anderson University. Dr. Taylor's duties include conducting Wind Ensemble and Chamber Winds, teaching instrumental music education methods courses, teaching advanced instrumental conducting, and supervising student teachers. Dr. Taylor's previous experience includes teaching on the music education faculties at the University of Maryland at College Park, Maryland, and at Ball State University, Muncie, Indiana; serving as the Curriculum Specialist for Music Education for the Frederick County Public Schools in Frederick, Maryland, where she supervised 108 music teachers in 46 schools; and teaching instrumental music in the Mt. Pleasant Community Schools, Yorktown, Indiana.

Dr. Taylor has served as an active member of the Music Educators National Conference, the Indiana Music Educators Association, and the Maryland Music Educators Association. Her service to these organizations has been as a member of the advisory board for the Maryland Music Educators Association, and as the State Chairperson for the Maryland Collegiate Music Educators National Conference. Dr. Taylor has also served as the National Band Association State Membership Chairperson, and currently serves as a faculty sponsor for the Anderson University chapter of the Collegiate Music Educators National Conference and is a member of Phi Beta Mu.

Dr. Taylor serves as a guest conductor, clinician, and adjudicator throughout the U.S. and Canada on a regular basis. She frequently conducts the Anderson University Wind Ensemble in performances on campus and throughout the community, public schools, and area churches. Dr. Taylor performs as a clarinetist and percussionist with area community bands, including the Anderson University Community Concert Band

2012 Indiana Junior All-State Band Personnel

Flute I School

*Sarah Zakowski Clay H.S.

Ellen Backer Jasper H.S.

Gayatri Balasubramanian Sycamore School
Ana Boulas Lake Central H.S.

Arlo Detmer Wilbur Wright M.S.

Flute II

Laurinda Godfrey
Rebecca Goll (Piccolo)
Kanako Hashimoto
Deborah Liu
Meredith Ondrejack

Center Grove M.S. Central
Hobart H.S.
Schmucker M.S.
Creekside M.S.
NortH.S.ide M.S.-Columbus

Oboe

*Angela Shaver White River Christian Addison Cook Fall Creek Valley M.S. Rachel Davis Columbus North H.S.

Bassoon I

*Claire Williams. Riverside J.H.
Alexis Wood Westlane M.S.

Bassoon II

Camille Arnett Schmucker M.S. Rajin Shankar Tri-North M.S.

Clarinet I

*Melody Rohrer Barr-Reeve H.S.
Isabel Bonarrigo-Burton Sycamore School
Allegra Frank Fall Creek Valley M.S.
Marissa Johnson Avon M.S. North
Elizabeth Magee Jasper H.S.
Leah Mauder Jasper H.S.

Clarinet II

Alex Baker Paoli Jr./Sr. H.S.
Lauren Ciulla Park Tudor School
Cody Hunsberger North Side M.S.-Elkhart
Sean Szolek-Van Valkenburgh
Paige Wild Western H.S.
Jenny Yang Creekside M.S.

Clarinet III

Sarah Guieb North Central H.S.
Chloe' Hodges Paoli Jr./Sr. H.S.
Kaitlyn Mann Jasper M.S.
Megan Nuest Twin Lakes H.S.
Abby Renken Western H.S.
Laine Rumreich Fall Creek Valley M.S.
Adam Sellers Twin Lakes H.S.

Bass Clarinet

*Surya Vezhavendan Lake Central H.S. Chris Avanessian West Lafayette Jr./Sr. H.S. Atalie Klumpp Bedford N. Lawrence H.S. Alto Saxophone I School
*Lindsey Welp Jasper H.S.
Reagan Moorman Jasper H.S.
Emma Nixon Western H.S.

Alto Saxophone II

Sam Heath Avon M.S. South
Paul Sanders Avon M.S. North
Christina Sluka Center Grove H.S.

Tenor Saxophone

*Qarch Hawk Avon M.S. North Adit Chandra Carmel H.S.

Baritone Saxophone

*Kyle Citro West Lafayette Jr./Sr. H.S. Madalynn Jackson Summit M.S.

Trumpet I

*Alex Shanafelt Carmel H.S.

Lucas Kintz Paoli Jr./Sr. H.S.

David Rich Columbus North H.S.

Drew Tomasik Warsaw Community H.S.

Trumpet II

Trace Coulter Avon M.S. North Zach Kovalenko Northridge H.S. Owen Kraft Westlane M.S. Kyle Nottke Floyd Central H.S.

Trumpet III

Conner Blair Paoli Jr./Sr. H.S.
Logan Fuson Fall Creek Valley M.S.
Kylie Joines LaSalle Academy
Alec Willis South Knox H.S.

Horn I

*Abigail French Northridge M.S.
Janelle Moss Clark Pleasant M.S.

Horn II

Alex Cassidy Jasper H.S. Matthew Steck LaPorte H.S.

Horn III

Marie-Gabrielle Craft Washington H.S. Steven Weiner West Lafayette Jr./Sr. H.S.

Horn IV

Blake Emmert Forest Park Jr./Sr. H.S. Brian Reel Castle H.S. Mira Vonderheide Jasper M.S.

Trombone I	School	Alternates	School
*Cyrus Dodson	Paoli Jr./Sr. H.S.	Sydney Stoops	Avon M.S. North
Adam Fierst	Jasper H.S.	Seth Patton	Bedford N. Lawrence H.S.
Conor Nolan	Brownsburg West M.S.	Braeton Runyon	Brownsburg East M.S.
Kiersten Wever	Jasper M.S.	Jenna Orem	Brownsburg West M.S.
•	J 1	Ethan Wilkinson	Castle H.S.
Trombone II		Joseph Sco	Creekside M.S.
Jordan Addison	Fall Creek Valley M.S.	Josie Rinehold	DeKalb M.S.
Madison Fillip	Avon M.S. North	Kolby Vaughn	Floyd Central II.S.
Sam Momavez	Sycamore School	Josh Graham	Hamilton Southeastern J.H.
Jefferson Tunks	Jasper M.S.	Kathleen Gaines	Hobart II.S.
		Kelly Keeley	Jasper M.S.
Euphonium		Christopher Hartzog	Kokomo H.S.
*Jacob Powell	Schmucker M.S.	Joseph Rodriguez	Lafavette J.H.
Isabella Griffin	LaSalle Academy	Timothy Giazzon	Lake Central H.S.
Nick Lyons	Twin Lakes H.S.	Connor Hoban	LaSalle Academy
Robert Petrie	Fall Creek Valley M.S.	Sarah Tanner	Lincoln J.H.
		Wyatt Searcy	Noblesville H.S.
Tuba		Thomas Schilling	North Central H.S.
*Richard Branaman	Brownstown Central H.S.	Paul Merkamp	Northeastern Jr./Sr. H.S.
Andrew Berkey	Northridge H.S.	Eva Yezerets	NortH.S.ide M.S.
Mark Flanagin	Eastbrook J.H.	Nick Snider	Northview M.S.
Garrett Terhune	Greenwood M.S.	John Haulik	Park Tudor
Dustin Troyer	Concord J.H.	Katharina Fransen	Riverside J.H.
John Wicker	Fishers H.S.	Patrick Badescu	Riverside J.H.
		Ryan Hibbets	Roosevelt M.S.
Percussion		Hillary Carnall	Schmucker M.S.
*Colton Baker	Greenwood M.S.	Jenna Hardin	Seymour H.S.
Emily Cushman	Jasper II.S.	Nolan Huffaker	South Newton H.S.
Derek French	Summit M.S.	Austin Miller	South Spencer M.S.
Mariya Merkley	Jasper H.S.	Meg Kunz	St. Maria Goretti
Daniel Milam	Castle North M.S.	Lindsay O'Connor	Tri-North M.S.
Grace Milligan	Roosevelt M.S.	Ahmad Rahman	Tri-North M.S.
Spencer Owen	Center Grove M.S. Central	Christopher Cooper	West Lafayette Junior H.S.
Brianna Rude	Pioneer Jr./Sr. H.S.	Riley Beall	Western H.S.
		Jeremy Murphy	Wilbur Wright M.S.
			*denotes principal

2011-12 Indiana Bandmasters Association Officers

President: Mickey Stisher Vice President: Jeffrey Doebler Secretary / Treasurer: Myron Snuffin Past President: Steven Cotten District I M.S./J.H.: Leta Sena-Lopez District I H.S.: Terry Fisher
District II M.S./J.H.: Candi Granlund
District II H.S.: Brian Caldwell
District III M.S./J.H.: DeAnne Mayfield
District III H.S.: David Kahl

Special thanks!

...to all those who have contributed their time and effort to the success of this event.

Larry Ash, Percussion Coordinator Myron Snuffin, IBA Secretary Pat Keeley, Staff & Chaperone

Without your total support, this event would not be possible.